About TransformKC

Transform Kansas City (TransformKC) is a joint effort between the Kansas City Regional Transit Alliance (KCRTA) and the American Institute of Architects Kansas City (AIA KC) Young Architects Forum (YAF) – to develop a public discourse on the opportunities of rail transit and facilitate professional and community input in the development of a more sustainable built environment. By engaging professional networks, examining best practices, and creating a forum for policy-makers and communities alike, we will design a paradigm shift in regional connectivity, transportation, and urban design.

Transform KC is intended to inspire the public’s imagination about regional mobility by showcasing built and un-built work from around the world that links rail transit to walkable, livable and sustainable urban centers. The new streetcar in Kansas City, MO is an unprecedented opportunity to leverage a return to urban rail mass transit to provide a more balanced, efficient transportation system of the future.

Together with its partners, TransformKC used the submissions from its International Call for Ideas to curate a traveling exhibition around the Kansas City metropolitan region. While all of the submissions will live on for posterity on the Transform Kansas City website, the interactive, multi-media exhibition spent nearly two years in various exhibitions at Union Station, the Jackson County Courthouse, the Kansas City Design Center, the National Frontier Trails Museum in Independence, Missouri, Better Block KC in Westport, and the University of Kansas’ Forum at Marvin Hall. For more information about TransformKC, our Call for Ideas and/or our Exhibitions, please contact us here.

TransformKC Committee

Co-Chair, Ashley Z. Hand, Assoc. AIA, LEED-AP

Co-Chair, Gunnar Hand, AICP

Communications and Design Team Lead, Kyle Rogler

Sponsorships, Katherine Robinson

Graphics, Danny Shervington, Assoc. AIA, SEGD & Vanessa McKenzie, AIGA

Web Developer, Camilo Snapp & Balthazar Kaufmann

Design Team, Erin Wages

Design Team, Rhaynelina Estevez

Design Team, Steve Burton

Design Team, Benjamin Thornton

Design Team, Iris Abramof

Josh Boehm

Tavarus Lowery

Nick Fratta

Brian D. Gaddie, PE

Sarah Frost, AICP, LEED-Green Assoc.

Brian Jones

Patience Jones

Jared Miller, PE

Lauren Reece